Dec 20, 2007 Print This Article

Hymn Competition Winners Acknowledged

Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, is pleased to announce the 2007 winners in the Pamela Anne Prevallet Memorial Fund Annual Hymn Competition. The competition was created in June 2000 by Mr. and Mrs. Donald E. Prevallet in remembrance of their daughter. It serves to foster the creation of new liturgical hymns of the highest caliber for the church.

Seminarian B.J. Fouts, the first-place winner of the competition, wrote two hymns: “Now at the Joining of These Two” and “We Wait, We Wait for Jesus Come!,” both selected to receive the first-place award. The hymn “Jesus, You Are Always Faithful,” composed by seminarian Brian Francik, received the second-place award. Third place was awarded to seminarian Samuel Bobby for his hymn, “Baptized and by Christ Made Free.” The winning hymn is available on the Concordia Seminary Web site at (

The annual hymn competition is open to students of Concordia Seminary who are serving their vicarage as part of their preparation to serve in the pastoral ministry. “It is good to foster hymn writing as a pastoral activity already when pastors are being formed,” commented Dr. James Brauer, professor and chairman of practical theology and dean of the chapel at Concordia Seminary. “It could yield some good, new resources for ministry over the years.”

The Pamela Anne Prevallet Memorial Fund at Concordia Seminary holds the copyright to the texts of the winning hymns. The use of these hymns in congregations is encouraged.

For more information about the Pamela Anne Prevallet Memorial Fund Annual Hymn Competition or this year’s winning hymn, contact Communications, Concordia Seminary, 801 Seminary Place, St. Louis, MO 63105; (314)-505-7374; e-mail: